While women are half of the overall workforce, they make up only a fraction of people in I.T.

Now in its seventh year, the Google Anita Borg Scholarship was established to help right this imbalance and encourage women to pursue careers in computer science and technology.

Last week, thirty Anita Borg Scholarship finalists and our NCSS Junior Anita Borg Scholars came together at Google Sydney as part of a retreat designed for women computer science students to connect and build relationships and receive professional development and training.

At the retreat, we also announced the final winners of our 2012 Anita Borg winners who received a scholarship towards their studies:

  • Karla Burnett, University of New South Wales - undergraduate Anita Borg Scholar Scholar
  • Mahsa Mohaghegh, Massey University in New Zealand - post grad Anita Borg Scholar

Congratulations also go to our finalists:

  • Chantel Garcia, Monash University
  • Charlotte Pierce, Swinburne University of Technology
  • Jade Loyzaga- University of New South Wales
  • Jenna Bermeister, University of Sydney
  • Livia Lam, University of Technology Sydney
  • Mithila Nicole Fox, University of Queensland
  • Nicky Crawford, University of Otago
  • Sarah Heimlich, Macquarie University

NCSS Google Junior Anita Borg Scholars
  • Davina Adisusila, University of New South Wales
  • Janette Chiu, University of New South Wales
  • Julia Wong, University of Technology, Sydney
  • Madisson Spanhel, University of Technology, Sydney
  • Marie Jo Ta, University of Sydney
  • Vanessa Ung, University of New South Wales
  • Amy Dee Fu, Australian National University
  • Caroline Bentley, Queensland University of Technology
  • Jessica Katherine Frawley, University of Technology Sydney
  • Jyoti Joshi Dhall, University of Canberra
  • Kat Reiner, Queensland University of Technology
  • Mahboobeh Moghaddam, University of Sydney
  • Mahtab Mirmomeni, University of Melbourne
  • Marnie Lea Lamprecht, University of Queensland
  • Nasrin Moradmand, University of Western Australia
  • Shohreh Seyedeh Zahra Hosseinifard, RMIT University
  • Upuli Gunasinghe, Monash University
  • Vasanta Gayatri Chaganti, Australian National University
  • Vinita Nahar, University of Queensland

Posted by Stephanie Borgmann, Talent & Outreach Programs Specialist, Google Australia & New Zealand.